When the going gets tough and the weight’s not going

When the going gets tough and the weight’s not going

So for a couple of weeks, I maintained my weight, and I know a lot of people would say it’s better than gaining. In fact, the first week, I said it, because I believed it. I knew I’d been following the plan, tracking every point, weighing every gram of food and writing it all down. We all have blips, and it’s better to stay the same weight than to gain some. I accepted that, moved on. Another week, another chance at a loss. When the second week arrived and I had maintained once again, I have to be honest, I was really annoyed. I was still doing everything by the book, so I didn’t understand why I wasn’t losing. I’m not someone who goes into every weigh in expecting losses of 3+lbs, I’m very happy to lose a pound, because if the weight is going down that’s all that matters. So 2 weeks, no loss.  My spirit and motivation was the only thing that was down! I knew that I had to try something.

Last week we had a stand in meeting leader, who spoke to us about a part of the plan they call filling and healthy. On this plan certain foods are ‘free’ and can be eaten as much as you like. These foods are things like wholemeal pasta, brown bread, brown rice, lean meats, fruit and veg etc. Now as we know, i’m not a fruit and veg eater as a rule. I just don’t like them. However, when it comes to lean meats etc, I like those. The difference I really had to make, which wasn’t a huge one really, was to switch from white pasta, to brown pasta. As you know by now, weight watchers runs on a points system. On the filling and healthy plan, yes you stick to predominantly free foods, but the likelihood is there will be some pointed items thrown in. However, you no longer have daily points. That means that the 49 extra weekly points you are allowed that would usually be served for extra treats outwith your daily allowance, now need to be used for parts of meals that aren’t free.

As an example, one of my favourite meals on the plan last week was brown pasta, mixed with a couple of dairylea triangles (1pt each) and Weight watchers bacon medallions . I also had a nice weight watchers garlic ciabatta (6pts.) On the Filling & Healthy plan, the pasta and bacon were free, but I still needed to point the cheese and ciabatta. Now include in that if I wanted a packet of crisps, or cereal which wasn’t free, I had to take those points from my weekly 49. That, I have to admit, was the part I found the most difficult on filling and healthy. I’m a night owl, I like a snack at night, so really the 49 dwindled quite quickly. By the final day, I had to a points day because I had no weeklies left. Having 36points to use on a normal day,  even though I don’t use them all every day, I always had that little bit of room for extras.

The big question though, is did the change work? I did lose 1lb so maybe changing things up a bit did give me a bit of a kickstart again. Would I do Filling and Healthy all the time? I’m not sure, because really, I found that I could eat the same things on my daily points and stay within them. Okay, I can eat more of things like brown pasta on the f&h plan, but I’m not completely sure it made a huge difference.

The decision I have made for this week is that I’m going to do BOTH plans. I’m going to do day by day, one on filling and healthy and one on my usual daily points. That way I feel I’ll find a bit of a better balance for myself.

I had honestly gotten to the point where I felt if I didn’t lose weight at this week’s weigh in, that I would just give up. It really had dampened my spirit. I have PCOS, and next week, I think I’ll talk more about the effects that condition has on my weight loss. Here’s hoping that next week, there’s another loss for me!

2 thoughts on “When the going gets tough and the weight’s not going

Leave a Reply

